Skip to content
Ford Explorer
Photo: Alexander Migl, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Ford owners club

Ford Explorer

From £35,185 · SUV

Range (WLTP)
273–374 miles
Battery
58–79 kWh
Fastest DC charging
185 kW
10–80% on DC
26–29 min
AC charging
Not stated
Plug
CCS2

Sets the battery and charging limits in Your car and tariff on this device.

Versions

VersionBatteryRange (WLTP)DC peak10–80%ACDrive0–62 mphFrom
Standard Range RWD (58kWh)58 kWh usable273 mi105 kW26 minFord UK price list: 10-80% in 26 min 'achieved using high power charging'.Not statedRWD8 s£35,185Style. Recommended on-the-road price from the Ford UK Explorer price list effective 1 Apr 2026. The list does not deduct any Electric Car Grant; ford.co.uk now shows a £1,500 government grant saving on Explorer, so the price after the grant would be lower.
Extended Range RWD (79kWh)79 kWh usable374 mi183 kW29 minFord UK price list: 10-80% in 29 min 'achieved using high power charging'.Not statedRWD6.4 s£36,985Style. Recommended on-the-road price from the Ford UK Explorer price list effective 1 Apr 2026. The list does not deduct any Electric Car Grant; ford.co.uk now shows a £1,500 government grant saving on Explorer, so the price after the grant would be lower.
Extended Range AWD (77kWh)77 kWh usable321 mi185 kW27 minFord UK price list: 10-80% in 27 min 'achieved using high power charging'.Not statedAWD5.3 s£49,885Premium (only trim offered with AWD). Recommended on-the-road price from the Ford UK Explorer price list effective 1 Apr 2026. The list does not deduct any Electric Car Grant; ford.co.uk now shows a £1,500 government grant saving on Explorer, so the price after the grant would be lower.

WLTP range is measured in a lab; on the motorway and in winter expect noticeably less. "Usable" is the battery you can actually use; "gross" includes a buffer the car keeps back. The tools use the WLTP efficiency when you pick this car; put in your own figure from the trip computer for a closer answer.

Where these figures come from

The latest Ford UK price list (effective 1 April 2026) states battery capacities as usable, 'determined by Ford'. WLTP ranges are the top figure per drivetrain: 58 kWh 273 miles (Style; Premium 258), 79 kWh RWD 374 miles (Style/Select; Collection 362, Premium 354), AWD 321 miles (Premium). Power is given as PS (kW): 190 (140), 286 (210), 340 (250). Prices are list OTR and do not include the £1,500 Electric Car Grant or the current £1,000 'Welcome to Ford' saving advertised on ford.co.uk (Nov 2026). The Ford price list file is dated 29 Apr 2026, with prices effective 1 Apr 2026.

Own a Explorer?

Ask other owners, share your real range and charging times, or report a charger that won't work with it.